Skip navigation

So I’ve started a new job, I bought myself a new HTC phone,well ok it was off ebay and was a very reasonable £140. The reason for buying a new phone was that I was originally ‘conned’ by vodafone in the first place into buying their blackberry storm 2 (9520 if you’re really interested), when I was upgrading my phone with their representatives I was told that it had built in GPS and on-the-phone satnav. Suffice to say this was the reason I went with this phone at the time as it was a feature I wanted, but alas when I got the phone, not only did it not have a functioning GPS (I had to manually upgrade it to get it to work), it had no satnav software to speak of.

So as one would, I phoned the support line from vodafones website only to be told that their sat nav software was not only not compatible with the phone I was sold but even if it was I would have to pay an extra £5 a month to use it. As you can well expect I was kinda miffed about being tied into a 12 month contract with a phone that was barely serviceable for my needs.

Now I come back to my first point of buying a second hand phone from ebay (excellent phone by the way), and now I use it for mainly what I wanted out of my first phone which was sat nav and mobile searching. So I now get my on-line bill today to see that I am being charged £2 per mb roaming data usage because my plan didn’t include it in the first place. Now I don’t mind being charged for some thing but 10% of my total bill per mb used on-line is bordering on daylight robbery.

So if you are thinking of switching to vodafone, a) don’t trust their sales douchebags b) do your own research on the phone beforehand and don’t get talked into buying something that does not fit your needs and c) research the costs of things not listed on your price plan.

Leave a comment